On cancer.

When my mother first mentioned that she had a lump in her breast, neither of us know what to expect. When she revealed that it had been there for over two years and was larger than when she initially found it, I urged her to immediately go to a doctor to get it examined. A month and a mammogram later, she was scheduled for a lumpectomy to get the mass in her breast removed. She was told not to worry and that she likely had precancerous cells that should be taken out “just in case”.

It turned out that the cells were in fact cancerous. After more diagnostic studies, it turned out that these cancerous cells had spread to the other breast as well.

Having just lost my grandmother to a brain tumor a couple of months prior, the diagnosis was very hard for me to accept. It felt like so much was out of my control. I wished that she knew to get help sooner. She said she never brought it up to her doctor because she didn’t feel comfortable talking about “those parts” with a male. She had no idea that not getting the lump in her breast checked out sooner could’ve prevented her from being diagnosed with breast cancer.

Even as an educated medical student, “cancer” is an incredibly scary word. It was even harder to use that word when talking about someone I loved. While my mother’s oncologist was very skilled, she was confined to her assembly-line medicine job’s regulations. She spent a half an hour explaining that my mother needed both of her breasts removed and left her with little explanation on what other interventions or steps my mother could take to eradicate her cancer. I felt like there had to be something other than surgery, chemotherapy, and conventional intervention to help my mother.

I was fortunate to meet Dr. Dawn Lemanne in Breitenbush hot springs. Dr. Lemanne told me about the field of integrative oncology and how there are other options for people like my mother. While the conventional interventions often provide a cure, there’s so much more traditional oncologists could be recommending. Dr. Lemanne told me about how nutrition and natural methods can play a huge role in fighting cancer.

I went back home full of excitement to be able to pass along specific dietary recommendations to my mother that I had learned from Dr. Lemanne. My mother was ecstatic to learn about what else she could be doing to take control of her cancer. She felt like she had control over her life again. She felt like she found new hope when she realized that she wasn’t relying solely on the surgery and chemotherapy. Having a natural way to supplement her treatment gave her power.

My call to action for everyone, medical or not, is to read the book that Dr. Lemanne c0-authored: n of 1. Almost everyone I know has had a family member or friend affected by cancer and this book provides more information on integrative oncology and the amazing effects it has had on curing a patient’s leukemia.

Words from my friend Dr. Dawn Lemanne, a stanford-trained board-certified medical oncologist & integrative oncologist who is self-employed at Oregon Integrative Oncology in Ashland, Oregon:

“My dream goal: integrative oncology IS the standard of care! Arrived home from a backwoods retreat hosted by Pamela Wible, MD, where I was given a power infusion by dozens of brilliant and brave physicians and healers. Home again. Waiting in the mailbox, my new book! Five years I spent writing it, and now it’s in my hands. My baby 🙂

Story: Harvard-documented “molecular” (i.e. REALLY complete) remission of chronic lymphocytic leukemia —- without conventional treatment.

Important because: conventional oncology calls this disease incurable and eventually terminal.

Translation: integrative was WAAAAYYYY better than conventional — for the specific patient here!

Result: Goal is closer: we ARE moving integrative oncology to the center of cancer care.

Book goes on sale Dec 27.

Read first 5 chapters free now: https://glennsabin.com

n of 1 is a rallying cry for patients, their physicians, and their loved ones to seek knowledge and self-empowerment–to fully understand their conditions and to treat their whole selves, not just their tumors. The book does not dismiss mainstream medicine, nor does it prescribe a diet, exercise regimen or supplement schedule that is appropriate for everyone. In fact, author Glenn Sabin embraces conventional oncology testing and effective therapies, in combination with integrative medicine.”

For more information on Dr. Lemanne’s practice where she focuses on combining lifestyle interventions with conventional cancer therapy please visit https://www.oregonio.com/

Leave a Reply

